Tony Attwood Website


Tony's first success was with the children's musical "Tamburlane the Mad Hen" which was written with poet and author Adrian Mitchell and published by Methuen.

Much of Tony’s early writing after that related to popular music including “Music from Scratch” and the “Pop Songbooks” series written for OUP

Tony is a life-long Bob Dylan fan and is currently writing a book “The meaning and the music of the songs of Bob Dylan”.   Extracts from this book are being published on

For many years Tony has worked with Dave Cousins of The Strawbs and Tony is marketing director of Witchwood Media Ltd which produces and distributes the recordings of Dave and The Strawbs.  (

Tony plays piano, organ and guitar and has himself written a number of songs and is working on a collection of recordings which are being released on CD as a private collection.  

He also wrote and performed the church organ music for the weddings of his two eldest daughters.

The plan is to put a number of Tony's songs on this site.   The first of those are  now up:

  1. Dancing Without You
  2. Visions of Louise
  3. Just a word of thanks
  4. A safer place to be
  5. Forgotten love songs
  6. Four Horsemen
  7. One night without you
  8. Sunlight
  9. Forever’s overrated
  10. Highway to the stars
  11. Turn me round
  12. Dancing by numbers
  13. Kirby Hall
  14. Slide gently
  15. Daughters
  16. Disappear
  17. Unwanted love songs
  18. Disdain
  19. Could you tell me?

  1. Grab a bit of love
  2. Everyone who knows how to dance has gone
  3. Aliens don't dance
  4. Drinking the stars
  5. Paradise
  6. Can we dance to this?
  7. Your friend tonight
  8. Nowhere to dance
  9. For if Shakespeare
  10. There must be more to life than Radio 1
  11. One night without you
  12. Take my heart most unkind love
  13. One dance away from you
  14. Can't sing the blues
  15. The museum of everything
  16. Now I'm without you
  17. Always